Mouth Watering, Holiday Pleasing Ham!

100_4678

Looking outside the window today, I see storm clouds, and temperatures in the 40s!  It is BEGGING for a recipe day.  Boy Howdy!  Do I EVER have a good one for you today, or what??!!

This has got to be the BEST tasting ham I have EVER had…. HANDS DOWN…. BAR NONE!!!!!

I want to thank my good friend and neighbor, Emily for this wonderful recipe!  (sniff, sniff– she will be moving at the end of the month– She has been such an amazing friend and example to me!  I will miss her greatly)  I’ve gotten lots of recipes from her, but this one is FANTASTIC!!!  I should wait until a special holiday to post this one…. but I am in the mood for some ham!  This is fantastic for Christmas, Mother’s Day (If you’re like me and usually end up making your own Mother’s Day meals), Easter, GENERAL CONFERENCE WEEKEND, Thanksgiving  (my southern relatives usually serve a ham along side a turkey, as well!)  You name it, you can find a good reason to cook this bad boy up!

A word of caution…. do NOT use a spiral cut ham for this.  It will dry out… Don’t do it… I already did it for you so you can learn from my experience…DON’T DO IT!!!

This recipe is fairly simple, but it does take some cooking time!  You will want to plan on around 2 – 3 hours.

Put the following in a large stock pot:

1 bone-in Ham — I like the “Butt” portions

1 1/2 C Brown Sugar

1 1/2 C Apple Cider Vinegar

then fill the pot up with water, enough to cover the ham up.

Boil this for one hour!

Then, take and make a dry rub out of the following:

1 1/2 TB Dry Powdered Mustard

1 1/2 C Brown Sugar

Spread this rub all over the ham when it is done boiling–being careful not to burn said fingers!

THEN, Take this pretty little ham and place it in a large baking bag — the kind you use for turkeys!  Follow the directions for the baking bags (ie… put in a TB of flour and put some air vents in the bag to prevent it from sticking and bursting)  Put it in a large baking dish and bake it in the over for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours at 325 degrees.  Do NOT over cook this ham… Stick to the baking times and you will NOT go wrong!

You will not taste a better ham out there!  Serve it with some seasoned, roasted potatoes and you will experience just a little bit of sweet heaven here on Earth!   Let me know how it goes for you!!

