Dalton’s Eagle Court of Honor

cofh1

Tonight’s the night! This is my boy, Dalton.

Well, for those of you who have been wondering if I am still on the planet… Yes!  I am!  We’ve been super busy over at our place.  We planned and held our oldest son’s Eagle court of Honor.  It was completely exhausting, but I would do it again in a heart beat!  If you get some time, and if you would like to, take a look at our pictures!  I finally got them posted.  We had Dalton’s Court of Honor last Friday, and it turned out so beautifully well!  It was truly a tender mercy from our Loving Father in Heaven.  We spent countless hours preparing for this.  Many nights I never went to bed until midnight while still maintaining a 5 a.m. wake up time.  Those quiet, undisturbed hours of the evening were the only time I had to  work on things while the children were asleep.  There are countless people that need to be thanked.  The love and support that we received during this special time, will always be remembered.  I couldn’t even count how many people showed up!  I hope you enjoy the photos.

If you would like to hear the closing song that my daughter and I did, please click here:  Apparently it is a work in progress.  We are trying to upload to Youtube.  Check back soon!

cofh2

Color Guard…. Attention!

cofh3

My neighbor made these adorable eagle cookies!

cofh4

Ice cream bar… We had cones, waffle cones, and waffle cups!

cofh5

We had Dalton’s picture, an eagle figurine we gave him, and the program on this table. I found the patriotic bandana at the grocery store earlier that morning.

cofh6

The merit badge table…. There was something to represent almost all of his merit badges. I had typed up the merit badge signs… I will be keeping each one of these, as I have four more boys to do court of honors for!

cofh7

Ice cream bar…

cofh8

Ice Cream Bar toppings….Some of them!

cofh9

The award, pins, and badge.

cofh10

Dalton with some of his friends.

cofh11

Merit badge display table in the background. Sorry I don’t have a more clear picture of it.

cofh12

Aunt Heidi, with Brock and Rhiley!

cofh13

Working to get everything ready.

cofh14

Dalton’s Varsity coach. We asked him to conduct for the evening.

cofh15

The color guard “guarding” the flag during the pledge of allegiance. After the pledge was said, they saluted the flag. The two cubs on the right are our boys. They did a really good job.

cofh16

Being from New Mexico, I wanted to stick with a Native American theme. We had the Order of the Arrow come and do a presentation for an Eagle ceremony. The little kids all liked it a lot!

cofh17

They invited Dalton and others who wanted to, to come up and do a dance with them.

cofh18

More dancing…

cofh19

This was the program we typed up. I printed it off on some old bond paper I had and it looked great, especially with the eagle watermark on it.

cofh20

My boy! He actually has two more badges he had earned before this night, but they didn’t have them to give him yet.

cofh21

Our district representative who presented the Eagle award.

cofh22

Dalton giving me the mother’s pin. I have this awesomely, cool ribbon that has all my boys’ mothers pins on it.

102_6030

cofh23

Sure love my boy!

cofh24

Giving the father’s pin to his dad.

cofh25

One of my favorite parts!

cofh26

Pinning the Eagle Badge on Dalton. I did one side and Ed did the other side.

cofh27

Ed doing his side…

cofh28

Ed, telling of some of his memories with Dalton and scouts…

cofh30

Ed and I got to put the new Eagle Scout neckerchief on him.

cofh31

Our bishop….

cofh32

Dalton taking the Eagle oath….

cofh33

Pinning the mentor’s pin on his former scout master…. This man is a miracle worker with young scouts.

cofh34

Wow! Lots of eagles in our “Eagles’ Nest!”

cofh36

Ali and I doing the closing song. We played “The Star Spangled Banner” We had the audience stand. The song was about 4 minutes long. It was quiet and somber. Many told me later it gave them time to reflect and ponder. It was a great way to end the Court of Honor.

cofh37

Party time!

cofh38

Dalton with one of his good friends!

cofh39

Time for the good stuff!

cofh40

Little Brockers caught with a plate full of junk food! Oh well… it’s only one night!

cofh41

No scouting experience is complete without Dalton’s camping hat. It has gone to every camp out he’s been on. It has been the source of much teasing, pranks, and tricks, but it’s totally Dalton!

cofh42

Another close up of the merit badge table. I made one of these cards for each of his merit badges.

cofh43

More shots ….

cofh44

This table was for his scouting pictures, derby cars, awards, and posters of his eagle project.

cofh45

More on the merit badge table.

cofh46

Pictures and awards.

102_6025

I had this big old frame kickin’ around home. I found some old bead-board paneling in our basement, cut it to fit the frame, sprayed is with black spray paint, when it was dried I “gorilla glued” it to the frame. I then hot glued each of his badges onto the board. They can easily pop off if necessary with no damage to the badge.

102_6020

I have a technology handicap…. I can’t do anything with computers hardly!  I thought it would be cool to do a DVD with music showing his photos. I ran out of time and energy, so I did what I had the resources to do. I made a poster board. After looking back on things, I think I would still do it that way again. It was nice to just have the pictures there to look at.

102_6021

I had Dalton’s name done in vinyl lettering for his award board. I also had them make me up a few other signs as well. I had an old tile from our home and so I had her type up “On my honor.” What I would give to have my own vinyl machine!

102_6026

The only picture I have of Dalton’s Arrow of Light ceremony. We had the Order of the Arrow boys come back then as well!

102_6027

Vinyl letters, a blue frame hangin’ around, and yellow copy paper…. Did all right, if you ask me!

102_6022

I actually didn’t keep any of his derby cars…. so we used his little brothers’ cars.

102_6024

If he ever wanted to glue his Eagle Pin onto this board, there is room at the bottom for him to do that.