Hamburger Birthday Cake!

Next week is my little one’s birthday.  He is turning SIX!  My goodness how the time sure does fly!  A few years ago, he informed me that he wanted a hamburger cake for his birthday.  I stood there with my mouth dropped…. what could he possibly mean?  Did he want cake or did he want hamburgers?  After a little bit of looking around we came up with the best of both worlds!

Ta Da!!  Hamburger Birthday Cake!

6784fe635a72214c9ff7230e1e2b37d7

This was the funnest thing I have EVER done for a cake!

The bun was simply a cake mix cooked in a round glass serving dish.  The patty and the bottom bun was cooked in a small round baking pan.  The patty was covered with chocolate icing; however, if I were to do this again, it would be made out of a brownie mix.

My husband and kids had the funnest time trying to come up with ideas for the “condiments!”

We used red, white and yellow icing for the ketchup, mayonnaise, and mustard.  For the onions and tomatoes, we used white and red large gumdrops.  We just took a rolling pin to them and flattened them.  The lettuce was greed colored coconut.  We took white icing and made the sesame seeds for the top of the bun.

For the fries, we took a pound cake from the store, cut it up, sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on it and baked it in the oven for a short little while.

The look on my son’s face was the best thing ever!  Hamburger Birthday Cake!

If you want to try it out, send me your pictures!  I would love to see how it works for ya!

