Rhubarb Dump Cake!

100_5091

I got another YUMMY one comin’ your way today!  The original recipe was found here on Pinterest a while back.  Please give her the proper credit.  I gave it a whirl today.  My 12 yr old RAVED on and on.  She LOVED it!!  It must therefore be added to the “keeper” pile!

We love Rhubarb, Rhubarb cake, and our most favorite, Rhubarb Jelly — My mother used to always make it while I was growing up.  I had a small crop of it in the garden yesterday, and it was just the right amount to try this recipe out with.  I was much too impatient to wait for a huge crop for jelly.  I NEEDED to try this one out!  Mine is ever so slightly different than the original.  So make sure you give credit to the original gal who did this!  It is absolutely so simple!

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a glass baking dish.  Wash and cut up about 2 cups of Rhubarb.  I cut mine up small (which is the way my kiddos like it).  Spread it over the bottom of the dish.  Pour a cup of sugar over that.  Pour a 3 oz Strawberry Jell-o packet over the sugar.  Zest an orange and sprinkle it over the jello.  Sprinkle a dry yellow cake mix over that.  Pour one cup of sprite or water over the mix.  Melt a half a cube of butter and drizzle it over the entire mixture.  DO NOT STIR.  Bake the old girl for about 45 minutes or until the rhubarb is done.

This cake would be amazing after it has had some time to cool and set up (with the jello in it) …. but it didn’t last that long.  I had kids eatin’ it and burnin’ their tongues at the same time, but it did not stop them.   I served it with a little orange Sherbert and it was amazing.  I took a quick, little Sunday nap and thought I could go back for a little more… I guess not!  It’s GONE!  Now we just need to wait for more Rhubarb to grow!  I can’t wait to try this one out in a dutch oven.  Camping season is upon us.  This one would be great and super easy.  Let me know if you enjoyed it!

