Deliciously Moist Blueberry Streusel Topped Cake

100_5070

Dang!  I wish I knew how to take pictures better than I do!!!  This picture doesn’t do this cake justice!  Well… I experimented… VERY SCARY…. I know!  HOWEVER, this time wasn’t too shabby!  I had a hankerin’ for some muffins, but I didn’t want the mess, nor did I want to take the time to do each individual muffin.  I came across this muffin recipe at allrecipes.com and I happened to read one of the reviewers comments about accidentally turning it into a cake.  So…. I decided to give it a go!  This recipe will be slightly adapted from the original.

I LOVE blueberry muffins.  However, the only thing I had on hand was one can of blueberry pie filling.  So, I drained the pie filling in a colander.  I saved all the wonderful glazing that came off from it and kept it in another bowl…. I had plans for it later!  I rinsed the remaining glaze off from the blueberries with some water while still in the colander.  When I had my dough prepared, I gently folded in the blueberries.  Fresh or frozen blueberries can be used …BUT NOT REQUIRED!   When the cake was all done and we were serving it up, I drizzled the remaining glaze over the top of the cake!  It was WONDERFUL!  My husband and kids LOVED it!  For this recipe alone, I may go and gather up all the canned blueberry pie filling cans I can get my hands on and keep it in my food storage!  I might even try a cherry pie filling next time!

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a 9 x 13 glass baking dish.

First… Cream together the following ingredients:

1/2 C butter

1 C sugar

Then add 1 tsp vanilla and two eggs.  Mix some more!

Add the following dry ingredients:

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 C flour

Add 1 cup of milk.  At this point you should have a smooth cake consistency.  Fold in your prepared blueberries.

Mix, with a fork, the following Streusel topping and then sprinkle it over your uncooked cake:

4 Tb flour

4 Tb brown sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 TB butter

A handful of rolled oats.

Chopped nuts… optional!

Place that bad boy into a hot oven and cook for about 35 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean.  When serving it up, drizzle your blueberry glaze over the top of it and enjoy!  You had better give some of it away, because if you are on a diet, like I am…. this could ruin EVERYTHING!!  This would be AWESOME for a brunch idea, or a Christmas morning type of recipe, OR, to just eat it whenever!!!  Let me know if you like it!

