Mmmmm! Doughnuts!

100_4492

I am so sorry my little band of followers get two posts in one day; however, I am trying to take advantage of a few spare moments to try to upload a lot of my recipes onto here!

This week was parent teacher conference week.  We had two scheduled for Tuesday and three for Wednesday; however, because of the dumping of snow that we got, they postponed the Tuesday conferences… you guessed it!  FIVE conferences in one day (3 hours!)  What a hurried, chaotic evening that was!

However, after the good things I heard from the teachers about my kids, I decided that they deserved some doughnuts…. not just any doughnuts, some homemade, made with love doughnuts, thanks for being my kids, kind of doughnuts!  This is what we came up with!

This one is not mine!  I found it on Allrecipes, but, after giving them a couple of tries,  I think I have finally found out what works for me!  Quite simple!  Quite delicious!  And yes, my kids even asked me who “bought” the doughnuts and brought them home!  Now, that is a keeper!

In a small bowl, add

1/2 C warm water (you want it warm, but not hot to the touch)

3 T regular yeast (not instant)

3 T sugar

Give them a good mix and let that mixture sit covered with a towel for about 10 minutes or so.

In your mixer, add the following ingredients:

Yeast mixture

3 C warm milk

1 C white sugar

2 tsp salt

4 eggs

2/3 C shortening

4 C of flour — to begin with.  Mix everything and then gradually start adding more flour.  Aprox a total of 10 – 12 Cups of flour.  You want the sides of the bowl to scrape clean when you are mixing it.  Cover the dough and let it rise for an hour or so, or until it is doubled in size.  Give it a good punch and then let it rise some more.

Spread your cooking counter with a thin layer or crisco or shortening — NOT FLOUR!  If your side of the bowl scraped clean while mixing it, you do not want to add more flour to the dough.

Roll the dough out until kind of thin!  Then use anything you have to cut out  your doughnuts.  I found this fancy little cutter on Amazon a while back, and I LOVE it!  Cut out your doughnuts and let them rise until doubled in size again!  Cover them with a dish cloth while they are rising.

100_4499

Preheat your skillet with oil.  It needs to be good and hot.  Gently place your doughnuts in the hot oil.  It will only take about one minute or so to cook on each side.  Take them out and place them on a wire rack on top of a cookie sheet.

100_4489

While the doughnuts are still warm, but yet easily enough to handle, dip them into the icing:

1/2 C butter

2 C powdered sugar

2 tsps vanilla

4 TB hot water, as needed

Mix everything but the water in your mixer.  Gradually add your water until you get the nice runny consistency that you desire.  I put half of my icing an a bowl and then took the other half and added about 1/4 C of cocoa powder and gave it a good mix.

Just dip the doughnuts in the icing and then dip it in sprinkles if you feel up to it!

100_4488 2

ENJOY!

100_4491

 

NOTE:  These make about 50 doughnuts!  I take half the dough and refrigerate it for another day.  I take the holes and place them on a cookie sheet.  I then flash-freeze those, or freeze them until they are frozen hard then place them all in a plastic bag.  When you want fresh doughnut holes, take what you need out of the freezer, let it rise and cook them!  Toss them in powdered sugar!

