Simple and Deliciously Moist Turkey!

103_0616

103_0617

I have two turkey recipes that I LOVE!  Today I’ll share the brined recipe that we love so much!  Ed’s sister gave us this recipe.  It’s super easy and it produces one of the best tasting birds I have ever tasted!!

4 C  Salt

2 Oranges — Sliced up

1 Lemon — Sliced up

Don’t do more than that…. too much citrus is not good for this one!

A handful of Parsley

A handful of Oregano

A small handful of Marjorum

Bud of Garlic– Lots of it!

Place your bird in a big 5 gallon bucket.  Pour the ingredients in the bucket and then fill the rest of the bucket up with water–enough to cover the bird up.  Put a lid on the bucket and let it sit in a COLD place for at least 24 hours.  (Try to make room for it in your refrigerator!)

When I bake my turkeys, I always use the baking bags.  I never put STUFFING in the bird.  I will occasionally put stuff inside the bird for flavoring, but I NEVER cook stuffing inside of it.  Follow the directions on the bag directions for the size and length of cooking time for your bird.  You can slit the bag open the last hour to help it brown, OR, my favorite thing to do is to rub oil on the bird, then smear paprika all over it before you put it in the bag.  This helps to give it a nice “golden” color.

One thing I like to do is calculate the cooking time to be done one hour before you plan on eating.  That way, the bird can sit in its juices for a while, OR, if by chance it needs more baking time, it can stay in the oven a little bit longer.

I didn’t snap a photo, but if you want a great tasting, super easy gravy do the following:

Using the juice and drippings from your turkey, bring it to a boil on the stove top.  I just keep it in the big roaster that I cooked my turkey in.  I will also add my potato water that I drain from my potatoes to the drippings.  Take an equal portion of both flour and cornstarch (roughly 1/2 C to 3/4 C each) and mix them together in a small bowl.  While stirring with a whisk, gradually pour in some milk to make a runny paste.  WHEN your turkey drippings are boiling, (I wait until it is boiling) add your flour mixture and it will thicken up almost instantly!  Season it to taste… I sometime add a bit of chicken bouillon to it if it needs just a bit more flavor!

  I hope you’ll give this one a try!  Well worth the effort!

