Easiest Chocolate Chip “Cinnamon” Roll with a Twist!

OK… I know it is near 100 degrees outside….it has been for the last couple of weeks, and seven children are running around my house making messes faster than I can keep up with them; however, I simply could not WAIT for autumn/school time to make these.  After going most of the summer with simple stream line meals, I start getting the baking “itch.”  It usually hits around this time of the year.  Maybe it’s the hint of fall in the mornings or the anticipation of getting the kids ready for school!  What ever it is, my family has enjoyed it this week… a lot!  You would think that I have been starving them all summer long!

Anyways….back to the rolls… they are so simple, my 13-yr old nearly did them all on his own!  I have a weak spot for breads… not just any breads, but SWEET breads.  Cinnamon rolls will be the demise of my waist line if I am not careful!  Once again, somewhere out there, I found this recipe; If it is yours…you should receive a medal!  However, we have our own little twist that we do to customize these bad boys to suit our tastes!

That’s right!  You guessed it!  We’re adding CHOCOLATE!!!!

Chocolate Chip “Cinnamon” Rolls!!

In a bread mixing machine, or by hand, mix all the following ingredients and let ‘er rise ’til double in size!  It really is that simple!!

1/2 C warm water

1/2 C melted butter

1 package of dry vanilla pudding

2 C warm milk

2 eggs

2 Tb of either white or brown sugar

1 tsp salt

8 C flour — When you put it in your mixer, you know you have enough when the bowl has no flour in the bottom of it.

2 Tb INSTANT yeast

When your dough is doubled in size, take a small amount of grease and rub it on your rolling surface… not flour… If you put enough flour in your dough, you do not want to add more flour.  (Found this great tip from a dear little bread making queen!)

Take butter at room temperature, or very soft, and spread over your dough.  Sprinkle a good helping of both white sugar and brown sugar.  Sprinkle your chocolate chips and  nuts on it.  Roll it up, cut them up, and place them in a buttered/sprayed GLASS dish.  Trust me, I have had so much better luck with a glass dish than a metal one!

Once your rolls are in your dish, take your hand and gently flatten all the rolls… this will ensure that they will all rise to the same size.  Place them in a 350 degree oven and cook for about 17-20 minutes.

After about ten minutes of cooling, you can then put all the following ooey-gooey icing on them that you want:

1/2 cube cream cheese

1/2 cube warm/room temp butter

A dash of vanilla

A couple splashes of milk

Aprox 2 Cups of powder sugar!

Mix thoroughly with a mixer!

Stay with me….I know it sounds old fashioned, but this is really the best way to do it for me!!  I don’t think I have ever measured this one out!

This recipe will make approximately 24 rolls… I know it sounds like a lot, but in our house that doesn’t seem like much.  They can disappear pretty darn quick!  I would say store them in an air tight container, but ours have never lasted long enough to try that one out!  Let me know if they work for you!!  Happy baking!

